Default Hall of Fame
Clyde Agnew, Jr.
Bobby Bailey
Ralph Baker
Peggy Lynn Barnes
R.E. Beck
Heath Benedict
Charles Berry
Stanley Bessinger
Ed Blanko
Bryant Blanton
J.C. "Fox" Boozer
Johnny Bouknight
D.D Boyd
Danny Brabham
E.W. "Red" Burnette
Edward Cappola
Tiffany Johnson Chaplin
Reed Charpia
Jimmie Coggins
Dominick ColAngelo
Charles Coles
Scott Conant
Timothy Cook
E.B. "Buddy" Corley
Tom Crump
Barbara Davis
Murray Davis
Paul Davis
Paul Kiffin DeBruhl
Nick DePrim
Joel Derketsch
Brandon Downey
Max Dubose
William "Bill" Dukes
Dr. C.A. Dufford, Jr.
Tyler Dufford
Thomas A. "Bucko" Edens Jr.
Robert G. Edwards
Harry "Flick" Eleazer
Marvin English
Voight Epting
Jeanette Ergle
Angie Follweiler Smith
Saylor Fox
Tonique Frasier
Todd Frazier
Charles Gallagher
Don Garrick
Vic Gilmore
Jeffrey Godbee
Neild Gordon
Thomas R. Gorman
Jacques Gilliam
Larry Graves
Bobby Griffin
Keeno Griffin
Fred Haley
John "Bumps" Harrison
Gregory Hartle
Cyril Havird
Roger Hazel
Stephanie Hemann Fox
Fred Herren
Roy Edward Hewey
Howard "Sack" Holt
David Horton
John "Sug" Horton
Dr. John Hudgens
Brandon Hughes
Cyril "Cyke" Hutchinson
James W. Ingram
William Conely Jumper
Alex Kellner
Thomas G. "Jack" Kinard
Moses King
Harvey Kirkland
Rick Ladimir
Merle Lambeth
William Lambeth
W.L. Laval
Herbert Lee
Marion "Bull" Lee
James A. Lowder
E. Woody Lucas Sr.
Wallace "Red" Lynch
Fred MacLean
Raphael Masters Jr.
William John "Bill" Matasy
Ralph Henry Mathews
Keith McAlister
Olin McCurry
Chester McPhee
Tim Medlin
Pat Merrick
Tommy Miller
Clifford B. Morgan
Aubrey Mosley
Bill Murphy
Phillip Musgrave
Will Newell
Darryl Owings
Janet Parkman Jordan
Ken Pettus
Keath Porterfield
Charley Power
Kenneth Pressley
Tom Quinn
J. Morgan Randel
Grady L. Ray
Bill Rhiel
Walter A. Renken
Pickens "Pick" Riser
Lawrence Carl Rogers
Jesse George Rushe
David Sanders
Rick Sargent
Katey Satcher Felts
Dawson "Dusty" Scarborough
Bill Scarry
R. Nelson Schofield
Richard David Seastrunk
Hube Setzler
W. Frank Shealy
Lemuel Shealy
Carl Short
James H. "Jimmy" Skipper
John Smith
Phil Spotts
Stan Stanton
Carl Stegall
Josh Stepp
Charles Stoudemire
Dennis Swygert
Edward N. Taylor
George P. Taylor
Wyman Taylor
J. Edgar Thompson
Horace Turbeville
Cy Wainwright
Virgil Wallace
Rev. Harry Weber
Mark Weeks
Harold Wheeler
John Paul Whitaker
Jack Whitesides
Wallace E. "Hoot" Whitworth
Tom Williamson
Robert K. Wise
D.C. Henry "Hank" Witt
Tommie Witt
Inga Woiwode
Charles E. "Chuck" Wollet
Dennis Yarbrough
Tymere Zimmerman
Full Roster
Full Roster
Full Roster
Hall of Fame

John Smith

SPORTS Basketball

John Lawrence Smith was born in Columbia, S.C., in 1947, and moved to Lancaster with his family when he was three years old. He graduated from Lancaster HS as the school’s all-time leading scorer in 1965 and played in the North-South All-Star Game. Smith then came to Newberry on a basketball scholarship, earning a letter for four seasons and serving as co-captain in his senior season. He earned the best defensive player award in 1967.

He graduated in 1969 after being named to the S.C. Tip-Off All-Tournament Team, all-Carolinas Conference, all-District Six and all-state. John also played tennis at Newberry, and was voted as the team’s most valuable player in 1968. He began his coaching and teaching career in Great Falls under the guidance of Dr. H.C. Starnes and coach Harvey Stewart in 1969. During his tenure he has coached boys and girls varsity basketball, boys junior varsity basketball, golf, junior varsity football and was an assistant varsity football coach. He became the school’s athletic director in 1980. In his 42 years as the head boys basketball coach at Great Falls, the Red Devils have a record of 866 wins and 229 losses with 18 Upper State championships and seven state titles.

He is the winningest coach in the history of high school basketball in South Carolina and his teams at Great Falls have won more games and more state championships than any other active or retired coach in South Carolina boys basketball. He has been selected to serve as the assistant coach for the 1978 North-South All-Star game and the head coach of the 1984 High School All-Star game in Columbia. He was also selected as the co-coach of the inaugural Carolinas Classic boys basketball all-star game in 1998.

He was inducted into the S.C. Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2004, the Newberry College Men’s Basketball Alumni Association Hall of Fame in 2006 and the South Carolina Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2010.