Default Hall of Fame
Clyde Agnew, Jr.
Bobby Bailey
Ralph Baker
Peggy Lynn Barnes
R.E. Beck
Heath Benedict
Charles Berry
Stanley Bessinger
Ed Blanko
Bryant Blanton
J.C. "Fox" Boozer
Johnny Bouknight
D.D Boyd
Danny Brabham
E.W. "Red" Burnette
Edward Cappola
Tiffany Johnson Chaplin
Reed Charpia
Jimmie Coggins
Dominick ColAngelo
Charles Coles
Scott Conant
Timothy Cook
E.B. "Buddy" Corley
Tom Crump
Barbara Davis
Murray Davis
Paul Davis
Paul Kiffin DeBruhl
Nick DePrim
Joel Derketsch
Brandon Downey
Max Dubose
William "Bill" Dukes
Dr. C.A. Dufford, Jr.
Tyler Dufford
Thomas A. "Bucko" Edens Jr.
Robert G. Edwards
Harry "Flick" Eleazer
Marvin English
Voight Epting
Jeanette Ergle
Angie Follweiler Smith
Saylor Fox
Tonique Frasier
Todd Frazier
Charles Gallagher
Don Garrick
Vic Gilmore
Jeffrey Godbee
Neild Gordon
Thomas R. Gorman
Jacques Gilliam
Larry Graves
Bobby Griffin
Keeno Griffin
Fred Haley
John "Bumps" Harrison
Gregory Hartle
Cyril Havird
Roger Hazel
Stephanie Hemann Fox
Fred Herren
Roy Edward Hewey
Howard "Sack" Holt
David Horton
John "Sug" Horton
Dr. John Hudgens
Brandon Hughes
Cyril "Cyke" Hutchinson
James W. Ingram
William Conely Jumper
Alex Kellner
Thomas G. "Jack" Kinard
Moses King
Harvey Kirkland
Rick Ladimir
Merle Lambeth
William Lambeth
W.L. Laval
Herbert Lee
Marion "Bull" Lee
James A. Lowder
E. Woody Lucas Sr.
Wallace "Red" Lynch
Fred MacLean
Raphael Masters Jr.
William John "Bill" Matasy
Ralph Henry Mathews
Keith McAlister
Olin McCurry
Chester McPhee
Tim Medlin
Pat Merrick
Tommy Miller
Clifford B. Morgan
Aubrey Mosley
Bill Murphy
Phillip Musgrave
Will Newell
Darryl Owings
Janet Parkman Jordan
Ken Pettus
Keath Porterfield
Charley Power
Kenneth Pressley
Tom Quinn
J. Morgan Randel
Grady L. Ray
Bill Rhiel
Walter A. Renken
Pickens "Pick" Riser
Lawrence Carl Rogers
Jesse George Rushe
David Sanders
Rick Sargent
Katey Satcher Felts
Dawson "Dusty" Scarborough
Bill Scarry
R. Nelson Schofield
Richard David Seastrunk
Hube Setzler
W. Frank Shealy
Lemuel Shealy
Carl Short
James H. "Jimmy" Skipper
John Smith
Phil Spotts
Stan Stanton
Carl Stegall
Josh Stepp
Charles Stoudemire
Dennis Swygert
Edward N. Taylor
George P. Taylor
Wyman Taylor
J. Edgar Thompson
Horace Turbeville
Cy Wainwright
Virgil Wallace
Rev. Harry Weber
Mark Weeks
Harold Wheeler
John Paul Whitaker
Jack Whitesides
Wallace E. "Hoot" Whitworth
Tom Williamson
Robert K. Wise
D.C. Henry "Hank" Witt
Tommie Witt
Inga Woiwode
Charles E. "Chuck" Wollet
Dennis Yarbrough
Tymere Zimmerman
Full Roster
Full Roster
Full Roster
Hall of Fame

Fred Herren


Fred Herren was born in Atlanta in 1936 and graduated from Campbell HS in the suburb of Smyrna in 1954 as an all-star athlete. He went on to star in football and track at the University of Chattanooga, graduating in 1958 and earning his master’s there in 1964. Herren got into coaching as an assistant coach at Jefferson HS in Georgia from 1958-61 and moved on to the head football coach and athletic director job at Gordon Lee HS in Chickamauga, Ga., from 1961-65.

After serving as an assistant football coach at Furman University from 1965-68, Herren came to Newberry College as the head football coach and athletic director in 1968, positions he would hold for nine years. At Newberry, Herren compiled a 46-54-4 record. In 1971, he led the Indians to a record of 8-2-1, which was the most wins for a Newberry team since the state champion team of 1924. He was named the South Carolina state coach of the year and the NAIA District Six Coach of the Year that season.

In 1975, he was named the SAC-8 Coach of the Year in the league’s inaugural season. He was later named to the inaugural class of the South Atlantic Conference Hall of Fame in 1999. After retiring from coaching, Herren served Newberry in multiple capacities, including director of alumni affairs from 1977-80, a second stint as athletic director from 1981-83 and vice president of development from 1983-87. He was responsible for remodeling of the stadium and press box at Setzler Field, the design and construction of the physical education complex and Eleazer Arena and the Cannon Tennis Courts.

He integrated Title IX into Newberry’s athletics programs and helped start the Lettermen’s Club. From 1987-2001, he was the Dean of Continuing Education at Spartanburg Technical College and was named the South Carolina Continuing Educator of the Year in 1994. Fred has been married over 50 years to his wife, Lucy. They have two children, Elizabeth and Greg, and four grandchildren. He is an active member at Spartanburg’s Central United Methodist Church and is a Rotary Club past president with 23 years of perfect attendance. He also participates on the boards of non-profit organizations.